RSS

Beneath the Mask (V for Vendetta)

03 May

Evey Reborn: A complete misuse of Portman's excellent acting

“Finally, some mainstream action.”

These were the comforting words I’ve managed to say to myself when I found out about the movie we were watching today. After 6 films that literally turned my brain into something incapable of cooking up a decent write up for each, its safe to say that in V for Vendetta, I have found the cure to my seemingly terminal writer’s block.

I generally enjoyed watching the film, maybe because of my pre-conceived notion of its nature or simply because the story captured my heart — whatever the reason is, I believe that all the elements involved in making this motion picture fit perfectly. I might be referred to as a ” mainstream film conformist” by the legit film buffs around, but maybe it’s because I haven’t really been exposed to the other kinds of movies out there. For example, although we’ve watched difficult films in class, I learned to appreciate them and like them in their own ways even though they’re not exactly my cup of tea. But of course, you couldn’t take me away from the kinds of films I enjoy watching. With pride and joy, I can definitely say that it was a huge sigh of relief to be taken back to my comfort zone.

V for Vendetta did not allow itself to get lost in the magnificence and flamboyance of mainstream Hollywood. I like how it was able to carry out its revolutionary message across without getting distracted by the high-budget cost of production that would have allowed the movie to achieve so much in terms of set design, props, sound and graphic effects, and so on.

I particularly liked all the scenes shot in V’s lair, most especially the simulation of captivity as experienced by Natalie Portman’s character. I liked these sequences because the depth and character growth for both V and Evee were well portrayed here. The dialogs were very meaty without being too overbearing and preachy.

V for Vendetta allowed me to acknowledge the impact setting contributes to a film. The plot twist was ingeniously planted in the underground residence of V to illustrate the power that V now possessed in his hands. By having the scene take place in V’s lair and Evey finding out all the answers to her questions in that very same setting, it elevated further the status and ability of V to create an impact on people’s lives — foreshadowing the unfolding of events that will happen towards the end of the movie.

Although I absolutely love this movie, I think it was to their disadvantage that they included the “rebirth” scene of Evey in the rooftop. Natalie Portman is an excellent actress but I believe that in this scene, they just tried too hard. The filmmakers should have just let the course of events flow smoothly, without forcing any deeper meaning other than what V for Vendetta already is. I felt like this shot was a failed attempt at being philosophical and “different” as compared to the other Hollywood movies around. The movie is already strong in itself and they should have believed in the potential it had.

Sometimes in films, and also in life, we push things to the limit that it becomes a fault to our disadvantage. We often try to mask the person we are in the hopes of being a better version of ourselves without realizing that the best of who we are is found when the mask is off.

Similarly in movies, and in V for Vendetta in particular, there should be no more need for pretentious attempts. It is enough to be simply what it is — nothing more and nothing less — to achieve a film’s fullest potential.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 3 May 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
