RSS

Punch-drunk Love

03 May

I have always been a fan of Adam Sandler and his movies. Most of his films I think I have seen already. However, this is the only movie of his that I have seen wherein I saw humor on a different level. No doubt it was a comedy but to a certain extent, for me, some scenes had that “HAHA-OH-NO-WTF” effect. An example of which was the scene wherein he flipped out and punch the wall and then cried. Another was when he whooped the asses of those four men with a metal bar. I mean, they were funny but they had that serious element which made me think, wtf is really happening.

I guess it was quite refreshing to see Adam Sandler not having his typical role as a plain comedic figure. The film had a dark side to it like moments when he snaps and all that—more often than not, scenes like these in his movies are followed by calm and lighter scenes. Although in this one, a serious element was constant. It never drove away from that element—it was maintained all throughout the film. Some parts I didn’t really understand like the significance of the small harmonium. Also, him buying loads of pudding didn’t really make much sense until the end.

What bothered me though was that it wasn’t really made clear what made him act spontaneously and just flip out when something ticks him of. I was left to assume what disorder he had which could try to explain everything. I’m not sure if it was mentioned in the movie but I didn’t get what illness of some sort he had or if he did have one. I guess it had something to do with having a lot of sisters and having them tease him since you were young but it didn’t quite add up. Probably his sisters should have had more involvement in the film to maybe try and explain this problem he had without really directly saying it.

Punch-drunk love for me is one of Adam Sandler’s better films. It included Philip Seymour Hoffman whose acting is phenomenal. I like this guy when i first saw him in the Mission Impossible III. The last scene they had in his shop was intense. It had that touch of humor but it was intensified but the silence and eye-to-eye contact him and Barry had. It was pretty scary how the scene started. Honestly, I expected a fight to occur. They had their game on and each of them was ready to beat the shit out of one another. I thought Philip Seymour Hoffman however to fight back but he didn’t. I loved how they exchanged their lines. It felt so real in a sense that you’re both excited for them to beat up one another and at the same time you didn’t want them to fight. I liked how the scene ended: when Philip Seymour Hoffman taunted Adam Sandler right after he said “That’s that” and immediately took it back when he saw Adam Sandler was serious about beating the shit out of him—I believe that it would’ve worked more than if a fight had occurred.

073941

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 3 May 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
