RSS

Blow-Up

23 May

For me, I think Blowup is a very engaging film. At first I thought it was boring because of minimal dialogue and its slow pacing. As I was watching the movie however, I found it difficult to stray my attention away from the film simply because no matter how long I have been watching it, I can’t seem to figure out what it’s all about. Everything in the movie just DOES NOT MAKE SENSE which made me actively try making sense of what’s being shown. Instead of passively accepting what I was seeing in the film, I was forced to play with my imagination and make stupid connections just to have that feel of clarity within the film’s story. But no matter how hard I try, it still does not make sense. The film starts in medias res and it ends in medias res. I actually found the movie funny. And I like it just the way it is.

Blowup is about an unnamed photographer as he goes through a number of random and totally unrelated events. Unlike Sir Andrew, I didn’t think the main character is despicable. In fact, I think I pity him. I pity him because I think he’s so bored and lost that he keeps on going to different places as if trying to find himself amidst all the chaos surrounding him. If I’m not mistaken, I think I remember him saying somewhere within the film how eager he is to get rich so that he can travel without worries. Although I can somewhat relate with him, I still can’t deny the fact that he’s still a jerk most of the time. Maybe this is what makes him a very masculine character for me. It’s as if he’s a lone wolf like the Clint Eastwood character in the Dollars Trilogy. He’s neither good nor bad, he just does whatever he likes to do.

Even though I really like Blowup, the whole movie feels a very weird for me. For me, the movie feels both chaotic and peaceful at the same time. Like I already said, it felt chaotic because it just does not make sense. I couldn’t figure out the point of what’s going on in the movie. However, the movie also felt peaceful for me because no matter how random and unexpected the plot sequence may be, the way the movie is directed does not create enough tension to exaggerate the seriousness of the situation. Blowup is filmed in such a way that I only saw the events as just they normally would unfold in real life. There’s no camera tricks or background music to focus on (or “blowup”) certain seemingly important scenes in the movie. The character does not dwell on a certain event for too long. He just keeps on flowing through the events as if he’s not affected by them.

I also liked the realism shown in the film as an effect done by the fly on the wall shots used all throughout. It gave me the impression of the film’s honesty, which highly unusual for most films I’ve already watched.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 23 May 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
