RSS

Hotel Chevalier and The Darjeeling Limited

23 May

Darjeeling Limited is probably one of the best movies I’ve seen in class. I liked the movie because it has the balance between an artsy movie and a mainstream one. It allows movie viewers to “sit back, relax and enjoy the show” while it also has all the elements for it be a unique and memorable movie.

I also liked the movie’s prologue, Hotel Chevalier, because it seems to add more depth to Schwartzman’s character. However, I think both movies could stand alone without the other. Nevertheless, Hotel Chevalier is a good movie for me because was able to raise my curiosity for Darjeeling Limited with all the unresolved emotions it has built up towards its end. Because of this, I think Hotel Chevalier should really be watched before Darjeeling Limited.

The movie is about three brothers trying to reconcile with each other one year after their father’s death. They do this by undergoing a spiritual journey in India where they encounter different problems due to cultural differences. The movie’s plot revolves around this journey and how they would make peace with themselves in the end.

One of the things I found amusing in the movie is how it was able to balance my focus between the three major characters. Instead of focusing on a single character, the movie was made such the characters do not overshadow one another. I think this could be due to the fact that most of the shots in the movie include the three of them. There are only a few scenes where a character is singled out from the other two. It’s as if the three of them resolved one another’s problem as a team. As a result, the relationship between the brothers was successfully elaborated.

The movie made use of many camera techniques such as _____ and ______, which I believe was successful in creating emotional peaks for its viewer. For example, the slow motion scenes enabled me to feel a sense of relief particularly in the scenes where the characters were able to catch the train. Another emotion-inducing scene would be the one when the three rushed to help the children crossing the river which uses a _______ to emphasize the need to act quickly. Aside from visual effects, the movie made use of sound to add depth to the scenes.

Being a movie that is about a spiritual journey, Darjeeling Limited is able to create a peaceful atmosphere. Although the movie belongs to the comedy genre, it was still able to retain the serious and spiritual stuff without making it stupid. It’s as if the characters went past the traditional, spiritual practices and transcended towards the depth and meaning of the spiritual journey.

Even though I’m not used to watching a 90-minute film, I think the director made a good choice in making the movie short to remove the unnecessary bits in the film. As a result, I think it made the movie more enjoyable to watch. In fact, I thought the movie was long the first time I saw it.

Overall, I think the movie is a very nice feel-good movie.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 23 May 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
