RSS

(500) Days of Summer: Story of My Life (063874)

25 May

I thought I’d make extra blog entries just to try to practice my film-viewing experience a little bit more.

The film I watched is a film close to my heart. I have watched it two times and for me it is one of those not really typical love movies.

This is a story of boy meets girl.

The boy, Tom Hansen of Margate, New Jersey, grew up believing that he’d never truly be happy until the day he met the one. This belief stemmed from early exposure to sad British pop music and a total mis-reading of the movie ‘The Graduate’.

The girl, Summer Finn of Shinnecock, Michigan, did not share this belief. Since the disintegration of her parent’s marriage she’d only love two things. The first was her long dark hair. The second was how easily she could cut it off and not feel a thing.

Tom meets Summer on January 8th.

He knows almost immediately she is who he has been searching for.

This is a story of boy meets girl, but you should know upfront, this is not a love story.

(500) days of summer deviates from the norm of having a linear romantic comedy that usually results in a happy ending. this film is about a normal boy named Tom, and his 500 days of a relationship with a girl by the name of summer. I actually watched this movie the first time when there was some similar circumstances between me and Tom, which made me appreciate the film very much. To me, the film is very real in a sense that the movie presents a story which is closer to the real world happenings between relationships: where men see a really pretty lady, and when a friend says that she’s unattainable. Then both of them find out that they’re perfect for each other. And then starts a quirky yet real story of a girl and a boy.

This movie, for me, mixes expectations and reality. this is very apparent near the end of the movie where the film juxtaposes expectations and reality during summer’s party, and how Tom reacts to summer’s different beliefs. This expectation is also seen in the parts where his friend Paul narrates to us (and he is talking like he was on a youtube video) that he loves his girl even though she’s not his perfect image of a girl.

The scenes where Tom and Summer are together alone are also almost idealistic. Strange how they shifted from an office elevator, to kissing in the copyroom, and then the only two people in the park, and of course, how could I forget the day they were in Ikea like there were no other people. This probably represents the high of love, where the two people seem as if they’re the only two people in the world that matter.

(500) Days of Summer makes us believe that true love is real, but we have our own set of views, like the idealistic, the scorn, the “live life to the fullest”, the hopeless romantic – and all of these viewpoints contributes to our understanding of what we want, what we expect, and what we really have.

Probably the only downpoint in the film (probably for other viewers) is that the story focused mainly on Tom and how his mind works (which is okay for me because I felt a strong similarity to Tom). True, there was no happy ending, and as movies go, they don’t disappear – they just carry on with their lives, and that’s something I love about this film. The only other bummer is the Predictability of the end, where he meets another girl named “Autumn.”

 
5 Comments

Posted by on 25 May 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “(500) Days of Summer: Story of My Life (063874)

  1. enaescanan

    25 May 2011 at 1:53 pm

    I cant tell if you like this movie or not. If you identify yourself a lot with Tom, wouldn’t this movie be painful to watch? :p

    “Look, I know you think she was the one, but I don’t. Now, I think you’re just remembering the good stuff. Next time you look back, I, uh, I really think you should look again.”

    I just want to put that quote there.

     
  2. Kara Santiago

    25 May 2011 at 6:12 pm

    I have had the file of this movie in my laptop for so long but I can’t bring myself to watch it because I knew how things were going to end. I personally am a fan of feel-good movies and I’m not so sure that I want 500 Days of Summer to taint my perspective on romantic/love story movies.

    But given that you’ve written a fairly objective view on it, I think I just might give it a shot. I also liked the quote posted above. It’s a great hook for me and I think I’m beginning to get curious as to what the 500 Days of Summer hype (especially on Tumblr) is all about.

     
  3. enaescanan

    25 May 2011 at 7:37 pm

    @Kara! watch it! it’s really nice. non-linear plot + pretty awesome cinematography + really nice soundtrack (you’ll download it after for sure!) + great quotable quotes HAHA

    yeah it doesn’t have a happy ending but it’s worth it. (parang love lang.) You’ll understand why people on tumblr (me included) love it 🙂

     
  4. greggyyu

    25 May 2011 at 10:37 pm

    enna: I actually looked back on the quotes and really found things funny. I don’t think it’s sad for me to be able to relate to tom. back to reality, I have my own life and he has his own.

    Kara: you should really watch this. it’s not ordinary. well, technically not a happy ending yet at least it gives hope in the end. (i just really didn’t like “autumn”, God that’s so cheesy!)

     
  5. gnspangilinan

    25 May 2011 at 10:59 pm

    I loved this film, I really did. But I also found the last scene extremely corny. It ruined it for me!!!

    But i must agree, it’s one of my favorite movies of all time because all the elements of the film was great. The soundtrack, the cinematography, the script, the people who were cast in the film… It was great.

    I particularly liked the “expectations vs reality” scene. It was such a hit.

    Okay. I think what I’m trying to say is… KARA. WATCH IT. :>

     

Leave a Reply

 
