RSS

A Whiner with Primer

25 May

Watching two science fiction films in one class was bit of an intense experience for me. La Jeteé was already heavy in its own way but I loved how the movie was made. However, Primer gave a whole different experience for me; the feeling can’t even be described in words. All I know is (sorry for being too harsh) Primer is the worst movie I’ve ever seen in my life

It is just a movie that I cannot find myself being fond of. Maybe one of the reasons why this is so, is because I had high expectation for this movie. Being an AB Communications Major, I am not a fan of science fiction films mainly because I do not have mathematic nor scientific skills. Although, I like watching them because it’s cool to see new inventions and technological advancement ideally. I enjoyed La Jeteé because the style of the film was different also because there was a story within the “science-fiction” aspect. The main character was pretty much in depth and there was a climactic scene for the viewers to enjoy. And I can say the same for the other sci-fi films I have watched like the recent movie of Jake Gyllenhaal, Source Code (2011).

I guess there was a caveat that we might not enjoy the film because of the dialogue and word usage during the film but then I thought to myself “It can’t be that bad. It’s about time travel. What could possibly be bad about that?” And then we watched Primer. Oh my. I got scared. Not scared of the story of the movie but scared of the feeling that my perspective of science fiction films will change negatively. The start of was still fine. They were talking about building a gadget or device of some sort (I didn’t even know or feel it was a time machine) and then they started working but as soon as they were in the middle of their process, they lost me or I got lost. I was gone. My mind time travelled to a whole different universe that made me actually fall asleep in the middle of the movie. I feel bad about not being able to watch the entire thing but then at the same time it didn’t matter either way because I wouldn’t have gotten it. I didn’t like the movie for how the story was plotted in the film because it couldn’t appeal to a general audience. I mean, not a lot of people can relate to that movie aside from the scientists, mathematicians or those people who really love science. Like what we talked about in class, it was like a documentary, a documentary that I could not understand at all. There was a feeling of displacement. Yes. And in that feeling of displacement, I didn’t even want to go back to getting in the right direction because I was so frustrated. In addition, with a story like that, there weren’t even any special effects or some sort to make it likeable. It was too simple yet majorly complex for me. I wanted to understand it and enjoy it but somehow I just found it so bland and real slow. Ok, the slowness of it was the effect of the movie and I commend the makers for having a creative concept but it was too slow. And the ironic thing about it is that the movie was already slow and I still didn’t get it.

However, I don’t want to be too offensive about the movie. I guess the good thing about it is the extreme intelligence of the story and how it was designed.  I’m amazed at how they were able to come up with this idea and actually incorporate it in a movie. Moreover, I have to commend the actors for actually playing the characters well somehow. With the documentary like effect, it made it seem real for the viewers which is good in a way because some or even most people don’t like to get too caught up in too idealistic movies.

Maybe its good thing I know of a movie in this type of genre. I’m glad that I have been exposed to something new and different. But nonetheless, Primer is still not my cup of tea nor is it something I’d want to try to watch again.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 25 May 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
