RSS

Captured Moments : La Jetee 1962 [092805]

25 May

A couple of weeks ago, I watched an old film entitled Somewhere in Time starring Christopher Reeves. After watching La Jetee, I was quite intrigued because its story line was very similar. Whenever I used to think about time travel, I would always imagine time machines or devices that will send people to the past. It fascinated me that their “method” of time traveling was the same. “If they could conceive or dream another time, maybe they could live it.” Another similarity was the fact that what drew them to the past was a certain woman they fell in love with. In La Jetee, they chose him because of an image from the past that he was obsessed with. In Somewhere in Time, Christopher Reeves fell in love with an image in the present which made him want to go to the past. In both movies, they succeeded. I like the fact that I can compare the two in both the romantic and sci-fi aspect.

“This is the story of a man, marked by an image from his childhood.” I liked the film’s first line. It was straightforward but at the same time, it makes you wonder what exactly is meant by it.

I’m not sure about what I feel about the film. There were some elements in the film that I liked and some that I didn’t. At first, I found it difficult to watch because of certain elements such as: One, the film is in French. It might have been easier to watch if the film was in English. Because we have to rely on the English subtitles kind of forces us as the film’s viewers to really focus on the film. One thing I am iffy about is that it can somehow take away our focus on the image or the motion picture. Second, it is in black and white. In a way, I recognize that it’s in black and white because it is a really old movie and somehow, because its setting was during war, that they decided to make the photos look like it’s from the olden times, grainy and in the grayscale. The colorlessness of the film made it look dreary. Naturally, colors would have attracted my attention more. The black and white effect of the film was a different approach but I am concerned that it just may not be appealing for some. Another reason why I did not like it too much was that it was a little too quiet for my kind of movie. It was simple imagery with a man’s voice that was so deep and soothing that it was easy to fall asleep listening to it. All of these elements made the film seem bland.

However, I have a feeling that it appeals to many because it is so different. It is not your ordinary kind of film and it’s less than half an hour long. Though it is not a film of regular length, its story is so interestingly detailed that in a way, we finish the film satisfied. I liked how they were able to tell the story in detail through only images- Except for that moment in where the woman blinked, which I am sure raised the curiosity (and maybe even hair) of each viewer- The pictures were solely based on moments. Important moments in the film. The story was delivered well because its plot was simply filled with moments. Moments from the past, the present and the future. When the unnamed man time traveled, his time traveling was also focused on moments and the things he remembered as a kid. As it was said in the film, he was a slave to a certain experiment and out of a thousand, he was chosen because of his vivid memories and mental images of when he was younger.

Like Primer, the plot was about time traveling. Personally, I am intrigued with the whole idea of time travel, which is why these kinds of films leave me wanting to know more. Sending emissaries into time to summon the Past and the Future to aid the present because the human race was doomed? EPIC STORY. Really.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 25 May 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Captured Moments : La Jetee 1962 [092805]

  1. enaescanan

    25 May 2011 at 8:40 pm

    Second, it is in black and white. In a way, I recognize that it’s in black and white because it is a really old movie and somehow, because its setting was during war, that they decided to make the photos look like it’s from the olden times, grainy and in the grayscale. The colorlessness of the film made it look dreary. Naturally, colors would have attracted my attention more.

    The setting was in the wake of a third world war so it’s from the future? I’m confused about this.

    As for the colors, natural colors would have attracted my attention more too but you have to agree that the use of black & white contributed to the dark, mysterious feel of what’s happening in the movie. Adds drama too 😉

     
  2. gnspangilinan

    26 May 2011 at 2:12 am

    Yeah, well, if i understood correctly, this happened sometime in the future.

    And, yes I agree with you! It all came together in the final production of the film anyway. The black & white imagery worked. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
