RSS

Untypically Typical : Punch-Drunk Love [092805]

25 May

I absolutely love romantic films. More than just romantic films, I love romantic comedy films. I had not heard of Punch-Drunk Love before and when we were told that we were to watch this, yes, I was excited, but I had already figured that it was not going to be the type of romantic comedy film that I was so used to. We had already seen three other films and one short film, in where I could only consider one or two as a film that I actually liked. To be honest, I was not so sure of what sir considered to be a romantic comedy film anymore.

However, as I was watching the movie and as I pondered about it afterwards, as I had mentioned in a previous paper before, I realized that the main reason why it was considered to be a romantic comedy was simply because it had all the elements of one. There was the love tandem: Barry Egan, the dorky (however, not so lovable) leading man and Lena Leonard, the leading lady who I immediately labeled as that of a “damsel in distress”, because of her “cry” for help at the beginning of the movie. In addition to that, in the film, you would see how their relationship so clearly developed: They meet. They date. They kiss. They fall in love. They fight. They make up. They live happily ever after. If given this type of story line, you would think it was a typical love story. You really would.

Little do people know, however, that even though this is the kind of story line Punch-Drunk Love was comprised of, the characters in the film and all the other elements that belong to the film, are miles apart from “just your typical love story”.

I must say, I saw a different angle of Adam Sandler in the movie. I was actually quite amused that we even viewed a film that he was a part of in this class. To be honest, my perspective of Adam Sandler in any of his movies is not exactly something I think I would be able to write about in class. I have always seen him as such a comedic, mainstream man. Some of his movies are more shallow, and somewhat even juvenile than others. To be honest, I think he acts the same in most of his movies and most of the time, if not all the time, the profusion of varying overly expressive expressions he possesses sometimes get to me. Don’t get me wrong though, I don’t exactly hate the guy. I guess I am just not a fan of his acting and his humor all the time. In this film, however, I saw a darker, not necessarily more serious, but an even weirder version of the usually happy-go-lucky kind of guy. I must say though, he played his part in the movie pretty well.

Indeed, as the movie progressed, I found myself feeling just a little bit uneasy about it. Rare did I find myself feeling that usual feeling any viewer should actually be getting while watching a romantic comedy film: Giddy. Happy. “Kilig”. The feeling which people watch these types of films for- I did not get it. The closest to acquiring that feeling though, was when Barry Egan threw what was possibly the cheesiest line in the movie: “I have a love in my life. It makes me stronger than anything you can imagine.” It was cheesy, and in a regular romantic comedy, it was typical as well, but because of all the weird and strange elements of the movie, I appreciated it. I found it sweet.

In general, I liked the movie. I am not sure if it is a film I would watch again, but I could say that it’s definitely a film I would remember- which I think is more important.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 25 May 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
